Preview Beta Site

Horses are Graded

Horses are graded according to their innate genetic racing ability and race temperament.

Grade 1 horses are the best and include the game Champions.
Grade 2 horses are slower horses yet are still fun to race.  They can run in races that are FREE to enter. 

Grade is assigned when they are trained for the first time above 90% fitness such that the system can assess Grade level.  Before this they can only enter into Grade 1 and Grade 1 Low races.

Grade 1 Low races are generally suitable for the more moderate Grade 1 horses as the entry fees are lower.

Grade Entry Fee Range 500 Runs Rebate 50 Win Rebate Stabling Fee Reduction
Grade 1 US$8.00 - US$30.00 US$1.50/Run US$2.00/Win US$0.50/Run
Grade 1 Low US$4.00 - US$10.00 US$0.60/Run US$2.00/Win US$0.50/Run
Grade 2 US$2.00 - US$6.00 US$0.30/Run US$2.00/Win US$0.50/Run

The Grade of a horse will stay the same throughout its racing career regardless of any improvements through ageing.

The least competitive horse in each Grade has the chance of beating the best horse in the Grade, under appropriate conditions of course.

Race Types

There are six basic race types:

Graded Races are the primary race format. Each horse follows a career. As it wins races, so it progresses through the race Divisions, with a handicap being applied in each division based on comparative wins with other horses.

Qualifier Races are run for horses to achieve sufficient points to qualify for the Championship Final.  

Championship Races are the most prestigious events in the game and they cannot be entered in. These are the Final events of a Championship Series for which the top points scoring horses are automatically entered at the end of each season.

Claiming Races are generally for weaker horses in each grade. The reason for this is that every horse can be claimed by another stable. You would not dare enter your best horse, that can run in a Graded race, into a Claimer.

Rated Races are so called due to the handicapping being based on the rating of a horse.  Rating of a horse fluctuates based on success in Rated Races.

Free Races are FREE to enter Graded races. They are there to have fun and for you to learn about racing.

Graded Race Categories and Eligibility

Horse age and sex are the first criteria which determine which races your horse will be eligible for.

Count of prior race wins is the next discerning criteria which is also the primary driver of game progression for a horse. Graded races comprise multiple categories through which your horses progress in the game.

To be eligible for a race, the win count of a horse needs to be within the range specified for the race category. Horses start out as Maidens – they have not achieved their maiden (first) victory – and progress through to A Division races. Your horse has to achieve 7 wins to qualify for an A Division race.

The race category charts set out the win ranges for each race category in each Grade.  Click through the Grades to see the differences:

Helpful Race Diagram

Your horse is usually eligible for multiple race categories (and race types).  You will see this variety in racing opportunity when you click Enter.  Owners can apply their skills in selecting the best races for their horses where they may be most competitive.

The Racing Categories section under the Races menu also lists all race categories along with eligibility criteria.  You can filter all the eligibility criteria in this section to gain a better understanding of them.

The same Graded race categories are scheduled for each Grade and age. The frequency that a specific race category is scheduled is dependent on the number of entries it usually gets for the time of the season.

Age of a Horse and Racing Seasons

All horses age on the first day of every season, seasons being 4 calendar month periods starting 1 December, 1 April & 1 August.

The racing career of a horse starts at the age of 2 years and it retires when it turns 8, giving it six years (or seasons) in which to compete for stakes. Of these six racing years, ageing has an impact on a horse’s performance where the horse will generally improve when it becomes a 3yr old and again as it ages to 4 yrs. 4 to 7 year olds do not improve with age and hence can compete against each other without any age based handicapping.

Minimum and Maximum Runners

A minimum of 3 horse entries are required for a race to take place, unless they have added (sponsored) stakes or are a Rated Race, in which case they require a minimum of 3 stables entered.

One stable can only have a maximum of 3 horses participating, in any race/ instance.

A maximum of 14 horses can run in any one instance of a race.

There is no limit on instances for a race. An instance is identical to the original race and is created when there is a full field of 14 runners in the preceding instance of the race. Added/Sponsored stakes are proportional to the number of runners in subsequent instances.

Small Stable and New Stable Graded Races

Small Stable races are for owners that have purchased less than 20 horses. Horses that have since been sold or retired still count as a purchase, so a stable cannot regain a Small Stable status once the 20th horse has been purchased.

New Stable races are for new owners that have purchased their first horse within the last 30 days.

For a more detailed explanation of racing, please refer to Racing In Depth under the Help menu.


Terms and Conditions  |   Privacy Policy
Copyright ©2001-2018 Virtual Owner, All Rights Reserved.

Kiron Interactive (Pty) Ltd is licensed and regulated in Great Britain by the Gambling Commission (“UKGC”) under account number 11572. Peer-to-peer skills games, where prizes of money's worth may be won, fall under the ambit of the UKGC for UK players. All game activity by players from elsewhere in the world, where such skills games are not regulated under any local regulation, do not fall within the UKGC licence. We do, however, operate the game according to the principles of the UKGC regulation for all players.